Citations & disclaimer
Restless legs syndrome: sources, guidelines, and methodology
Every claim on this site traces to a citation and an evidence grade — never an invented fact, never a bare assertion. This page collects the clinical guidelines behind it, how the underlying research was gathered and checked, how the long-term protocol was produced and adversarially verified, what the simulation is (and is not), the full medical disclaimer, and this project's known limitations.
Every claim on this site traces to a citation and an evidence grade. This page compares the clinical guidelines used (AASM, IRLSSG, German DGN/DGSM), explains the verification methodology, and states the full medical disclaimer.
1 · Clinical guidelines
Clinical guidelines used
A comparison of national and international RLS clinical practice guidelines — diagnosis and treatment algorithms across the US, Europe, Germany, France, and international bodies (IRLSSG/EURLSSG, World Sleep Society) — plus the historical evolution of the US guidelines from 2004 to 2026. Sourced entirely from knowledge-base/topics/guidelines-global.md; only guidelines that document reviews are kept.
DGuideline recommendations are evidence grade D (expert opinion / guideline consensus) as defined in the project’s honesty rules, unless a specific figure is separately backed by pooled trial data noted elsewhere in the knowledge base.
| Guideline | Body / region | Year | Stance on dopamine agonists | Iron / ferritin threshold | First-line therapy | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| AASM clinical practice guideline | United States — American Academy of Sleep Medicine | 2025 | Conditional recommendation against pramipexole, ropinirole, and rotigotine as standard therapy, on augmentation grounds; strong recommendation against cabergoline (cardiac valvulopathy). | Ferritin ≤75 ng/mL or transferrin saturation <20% (oral or IV iron); IV iron only if ferritin 75–100 ng/mL. | Gabapentin enacarbil, gabapentin, or pregabalin (strong recommendation). | PMID 39324694 |
| AASM practice parameters | United States — American Academy of Sleep Medicine | 2012 | Pramipexole and ropinirole rated STANDARD, the highest recommendation level. | Not stated. | Pramipexole / ropinirole. | 2012-aurora-aasm-practice-parameters.md |
| AAN treatment guideline | United States — American Academy of Neurology | 2016 | Pramipexole and rotigotine rated Level A, the highest evidence level. | Not stated. | Pramipexole / rotigotine. | 2016-winkelman-aan-treatment-guideline.md |
| RLS Foundation / Mayo Clinic algorithm | United States — Mayo Clinic / RLS Foundation Medical Advisory Board | 2004 | Positioned centrally as a first-line pharmacologic option. | Not stated. | Dopamine agonists and levodopa. | 2004-silber-mayo-clinic-original-algorithm.md |
| RLS Foundation / Mayo Clinic algorithm (updated) | United States — Mayo Clinic / RLS Foundation Medical Advisory Board | 2021 | Repositioned to second-line, reversing the 2004 algorithm. | Not stated. | Alpha-2-delta ligands lead; dopamine agonists moved to second-line. | 2021-silber-mayo-clinic-rls-algorithm.md |
| RLS Foundation / Mayo Clinic algorithm (2026 update) | United States — Mayo Clinic / RLS Foundation Medical Advisory Board | 2026 | Second-line positioning unchanged from 2021. | Not stated. | Alpha-2-delta ligands lead; expanded low-dose-opioid and peroneal-nerve-stimulation guidance. | 2026-silber-updated-rls-management-algorithm.md |
| DGN/DGSM S2k guideline | Germany — German Neurological Society / German Sleep Society | 2024 | Non-ergot dopamine agonists still listed alongside gabapentinoids as first-line — the clearest disagreement with the 2025 AASM stance in this comparison. | Ferritin ≤75 µg/L (oral iron for mild RLS, including in pregnancy). | Dopamine agonists AND alpha-2-delta ligands (co-first-line). | 2024-trenkwalder-german-dgn-dgsm-guideline.md |
| Expert consensus on pharmacoresistant RLS | France | 2018 | Dopamine agonists treated as one of three equally-weighted first-line drug classes. | Not stated. | Dopamine agonists, alpha-2-delta ligands, and opioids (three co-equal classes). | 2018-chenini-french-consensus-pharmacoresistant.md |
| IRLSSG iron treatment guideline | International — International RLS Study Group | 2018 | Not addressed — this is an iron-specific guideline, not a general treatment algorithm. | IV ferric carboxymaltose first-line if ferritin <300 µg/L; oral iron possibly effective at ferritin ≤75 µg/L. | Iron therapy itself, not a dopaminergic-drug recommendation. | 2018-allen-irlssg-iron-treatment-guidelines.md |
| Augmentation prevention & treatment guideline | International — IRLSSG / EURLSSG / RLS Foundation | 2016 | Correct or remove aggravating factors first; never increase the causative dopaminergic drug. | Not stated. | Not applicable — this guideline manages existing augmentation, not initial therapy. | 2016-garcia-borreguero-augmentation-prevention-treatment-guidelines.md |
This comparison could not obtain a confirmed, text-extractable primary source for the current Spanish or full Japanese guidelines, and found no dedicated national RLS guideline indexed for Canada, Australia, China, or India — those gaps are recorded, not filled in with a guess (guidelines-global.md, “Open questions”). Separately, a 2025 World Sleep Society survey of 53 national sleep societies (23 respondents) found 12 of the AASM 2025 guideline’s 20 recommendations fully supported internationally and 5 partially supported, with its two recommendations against dopamine agonists the main point of regional disagreement (C, 2025-ferri-world-sleep-society-endorsement.md).
2 · Methodology
How the knowledge base was built
A research knowledge base of one markdown note per source, built as two parallel sweeps and checked for citation accuracy before anything is published here.
A topic sweep produced 22 prose syntheses — one per subject area (iron therapy, dopamine-agonist augmentation, tapering and deprescribing, genetics and epidemiology, cross-guideline comparison, and 17 others) — each one citing the individual study notes behind it. A language sweep searched 25 non-English language groups (Arabic, Czech/Slovak, German, Greek, Spanish, Persian, Finnish, French, Hebrew, Hindi, Hungarian, Indonesian/Malay, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Dutch, Polish, Portuguese, Romanian, Russian, Scandinavian (Swedish/Norwegian/Danish), Turkish, Ukrainian, Vietnamese/Thai, and Chinese) for non-English findings, national guidelines, and patient organizations; verified entries currently exist in 11 of those languages — most sweeps that found nothing citable are recorded as such rather than silently dropped.
Every note — one per study, trial, or guideline — follows the same frontmatter-plus-sections template: a stable id, title, authors, year, journal, a PMID/DOI/URL, source language, study type, sample size, population, controlled topic tags, and an evidence grade, followed by a key finding, the intervention or exposure, outcome numbers, relevance to a non-drug long-term plan, and limitations (per the note template in docs/00_MASTER_PLAN.md §5).
Every factual claim across the knowledge base, the protocol, and this site is graded on the same A–E scale:
- A
- Systematic review / meta-analysis, or 2 or more randomized controlled trials.
- B
- A single randomized controlled trial, or a large cohort study.
- C
- A small or observational study, or a case series.
- D
- Expert opinion or clinical guideline consensus.
- E
- Mechanistic or animal-model evidence only.
Before anything is cited on this site, its PMID, DOI, or URL is independently checked against the source record. As of the last verification pass:
651
Verified studies
652
Notes checked
1
Unverifiable
2026-09-12
Last verification pass
By evidence grade
- C286
- B150
- E89
- D80
- A46
By study type
- cohort168
- case-control104
- RCT97
- review86
- case-series46
- animal42
- meta-analysis37
- systematic-review30
- cross-sectional20
- in-vitro12
- trial-registry8
- preprint1
By language
- en628
- ru5
- fr5
- de3
- es3
- zh2
- ja1
- uk1
- pl1
- hu1
- he1
Top topics
- iron-therapy89
- dopamine-agonists-augmentation86
- genetics-epidemiology84
- secondary-rls-comorbidities73
- brain-iron-deficiency54
- spinal-peripheral-plms53
- lifestyle-exercise-diet45
- molecular-mechanisms-hypoxia-genetics-simulation-parameters45
The single unverifiable note is excluded from this catalog and from the clinical protocol until it can be independently confirmed.
Browse the full, searchable catalog on the Knowledge base page →
3 · Methodology
How the protocol was produced
The long-term protocol went through independent drafting, judging, adversarial citation verification, and a separate honesty audit before publication.
The long-term protocol was produced in three independent drafts — risk-first, evidence-first, and patient-first — each written separately from the same knowledge base, then reviewed by an independent judging pass and synthesized into a single document (docs/00_MASTER_PLAN.md §6, phase R2-B). Every one of its 40 load-bearing claims was then re-checked, one by one, against the cited knowledge-base note, the PubMed record for its PMID, and any contradicting note elsewhere in the knowledge base — an adversarial verification pass, followed by a separate line-by-line honesty audit against the project’s own non-negotiable rules, including a full citation-existence check and a 15-note random numeric spot-check.
Verdict: 32 of the 40 claims survived unchanged. Seven were rewritten because they overstated their source — a percentage generalized past the population it was measured in, a small case series graded as if it were a large trial, a pooled effect size presented without noting it was driven by a different patient population. One numeric figure — a taper rate repeated widely elsewhere — was deleted outright because no source in this knowledge base contains it.
Read the full verification log (SOLUTION_VERIFICATION.md)
SOLUTION_PROTOCOL.md — adversarial citation verification and revision log
Scope: all 40 load-bearing claims (C01–C40) in docs/SOLUTION_PROTOCOL.md were independently
re-checked against (a) the cited knowledge-base note, (b) the PubMed record for the cited PMID, and
(c) any contradicting note elsewhere in knowledge-base/. Evidence grades were re-checked against
the rubric in docs/00_MASTER_PLAN.md §2. Verdicts below are the reviewers'; the "Action taken"
column is this revision.
Verdict counts: 32 supported, 7 overstated, 1 wrong-citation. Eleven claims were rewritten, three regraded, one numeric figure deleted outright as untraceable.
Findings and actions
| Claim | Verdict | Reason (condensed) | Action taken |
|---|---|---|---|
| C01 augmentation 7–10%/yr (PMID 41563785, D) | supported | Figures match note and abstract; corroborated by Högl RCT and community survey. But the source uses the figure to argue against starting an agonist, not against continuing one. | Rewritten. Preface now states explicitly that extending the figure to de-prescribing established therapy is this document's own reasoning. |
| C02 AASM 2025 against pramipexole/ropinirole/rotigotine (39324694, D) | supported | Note and abstract match verbatim; grade D correct for guideline consensus. | No change. |
| C03 DAWS severe, no proven treatment; "up to 24%" is PD data (23686524; 41870480, D) | overstated | Core claims verified. But "at far higher doses" is unsourced — it appears only in the Lobińska note's own Limitations, attributed to no citation. | Rewritten. Now: "where dopamine agonists are generally used at higher doses than in RLS — a comparison offered as editorial context in the cited review, not a separately verified dose figure." |
| C04 IRLS MCSC 3 group / ~6 individual (24051118, C) | supported | Matches note and abstract; no contradicting threshold in KB. Grade C defensible for an analytic letter. | No change. |
| C05 placebo −6.58, nocebo 45.4%, 85 RCTs (28490647, A) | supported | Exact match; grade A correct. | No change. |
| C06 4-hour advance = best single augmentation criterion (17544323, D) | supported | Matches Max Planck consensus statement and its five features. | No change. |
| C07 ICD 7.1% by structured interview (21955669, C) | overstated | Population mismatch: the 140-patient denominator includes levodopa-only patients; only 8 of 10 ICD cases were on an agonist. An agonist-specific rate is not reported. | Rewritten in §1 and in the §5 monitoring table: now states 7.1% (10/140) in a mixed agonist-or-levodopa cohort, 8/10 affected on an agonist, agonist-specific rate not separately reported. |
| C08 Lipford 8-yr cohort: 42% augmentation, 10% ICD, 10% driving sleep attacks (23036265, C) | supported | Every figure matches; grade C correct for n=50 retrospective single-centre. | No change. |
| C09 suicide/self-harm aHR 2.66 (95% CI 1.70–4.15) (31441941, B) | supported | Exact match; "roughly doubles" is an accurate hedge, causation not claimed. | No change. |
| C10 pregnancy prevalence 21%, 4% postpartum (29169861, A) | supported | Exact match. Minor: the topic file's Life-ON caveat (cumulative incidence rising to 34.7% by 12 months) was not carried into the protocol's terse bullet. | Caveat added: postpartum 4% now labelled a cross-sectional population average, "not a guarantee of resolution for any individual". |
| C11 brain-iron MRI meta-analysis negative (35500370, A) | supported | Exact match; already the best-hedged claim in the document (§6 thin point 2). | No change. |
| C12 gabapentin t½ 5–9 h → 132 h in dialysis (36518357, E) | supported | Matches n=2 case series; grade E correctly conservative; claim already conditional. | No change. |
| C13 gabapentinoid+opioid ORs, mortality in non-RCT data only (36304170, A) | supported | Exact match; the protocol already restricts the mortality OR to non-randomised data. | No change. |
| C14 falls aHR 1.18 (35476819, B) | supported | Exact match. But the extrapolation caveat (chronic-pain/anxiety Medicare cohort, not RLS; median 26-day exposure) lived only in the KB note. | Caveat added inline in §1. |
| C15 RLS→PD OR 4.19, incl. 5–10 years before diagnosis (36342675, B) | supported (with flagged conflation) | OR 4.19 is the all-follow-up figure; the 5–10-year sub-analysis is OR 3.73. Current phrasing implied 4.19 applied to the lag window. | Rewritten to attribute OR 4.19 (3.91–4.50) to any prior RLS diagnosis and OR 3.73 (3.39–4.09) to the 5–10-year lag. |
| C16 fifth IRLSSG criterion added 2014 (25023924, D) | supported | Matches consensus paper. Filing note: the file lives in knowledge-base/guidelines/, not studies/. | No change to text; filing noted under Follow-ups. |
| C17 ferritin ≤75 / TSAT <20% thresholds across AASM, IRLSSG, DGN (39324694, 29425576, 39501372, D) | supported | All three guideline notes and all three PubMed records match; grade D correct. | No change. |
| C18 vitamin D RCT negative (30430372, B; 39064758, A) | supported | Both match. Caveat: the 2024 review's vitamin-D conclusion likely rests on largely the same small evidence base, so these are not two fully independent confirmations. | No change to the claim (it is a negative finding, and the protocol states only "do not treat RLS with it"). Noted here. |
| C19 drug-induced RLS: >80% mirtazapine+quetiapine, n=340,099 (42251748, B) | supported | Exact match; note already flags the very low absolute incidence (0.02%). | No change. |
| C20 mirtazapine 28% vs reboxetine 0% (18468624, B) | overstated | Percentages match, but total and per-drug denominators are unreported and the design is an uncontrolled, unblinded prospective office series — grade B ("single RCT or large cohort") is unjustifiable without a known N. | Regraded B → C in the protocol, with the design and the missing denominators stated inline and the percentages labelled provisional. |
| C21 PPI/H2 antagonists, OR 1.29–1.41, two national cohorts (33119070, B) | overstated | H2 antagonists alone were not significant in Denmark (OR 1.18, 95% CI 0.92–1.53, p=0.2). The claim implied replication of both drug classes across both cohorts. | Rewritten with the per-class, per-cohort breakdown: PPIs significant in both (1.43 US / 1.27 DK), H2 antagonists significant in the US only (1.56), combined category significant in both (1.41 / 1.29). |
| C22 melatonin 3 mg increased SIT PLM index (20226733, B) | overstated | The note's own study_type is case-series, explicitly unblinded and non-randomised, n=8 — that is grade C by this project's rubric, and "controlled within-subject crossover" overstates the design. | Regraded B → C in the protocol and relabelled "small, unblinded, non-randomised within-subject case series (n=8)", in §2.3 and in the §4 bright-light adjunct. |
| C23 first oral-iron RCT, IRLS −10.3 vs −1.14 (19230757, B) | supported | Exact match; "first" claim holds against the KB. | No change. |
| C24 Cochrane oral iron MD −3.78, "10 trials, 428 patients" (30609006, A) | overstated | The −3.78 estimate comes from 7 studies, 345 participants; 10 trials / 428 participants is the review's overall enrolment. Also, the −6.58 placebo benchmark it is compared against belongs to PMID 28490647, which was not cited beside it. | Rewritten to 7 trials / 345 participants for the pooled estimate, with the 10/428 review total in parentheses, and PMID 28490647 added next to the placebo benchmark. |
| C25 FCM RCT −8.0 vs −4.8, p=.0036; CGI-I n.s. (38625730, B) | supported | Exact match (abstract p=.2987, protocol rounds to 0.30). | No change. |
| C26 rescue medication 32.7% vs 59.4%, NNT ≈4 (38625730, B) | supported | ARR 26.7%, NNT 3.7 → "about 4" correct. | No change. |
| C27 500 mg FCM failed; "effective total dose is 1000 mg" (29458749, B) | overstated | Numbers correct, but the 1000 mg threshold rests on a cross-trial comparison, not head-to-head dose-ranging; the source only says prior trials "suggested" it. | Hedged: "Dose may matter … suggesting — by cross-trial comparison, not a head-to-head dose-ranging trial — that 1000 mg may be the minimum effective total dose." |
| C28 FCM remitters, 37.5% medication-free at 30 weeks (27823710, B) | supported | Exact match. | No change. |
| C29 judge IV iron at 12 weeks, not 4 (28643901, B) | supported | Week-4 p=0.163, week-12 p=0.021 — the timeline inference follows directly from the trial's own endpoints. | No change. |
| C30 FCM hypophosphataemia 50.8% vs 0.9% (30518682, A) | overstated | Numbers exact, but this is a single RCT — grade B by this project's own rubric, not A. Population was iron-deficiency anaemia, not RLS. | Regraded A → B in the protocol (section heading, inline citation and the §5 monitoring row), with the non-RLS population stated as an extrapolation. |
| C31 pregabalin vs pramipexole augmentation 2.1% vs 7.7%; 6 suicidal-ideation cases (24521108, B) | supported | Exact match; the protocol already reports the harm beside the benefit. | No change. |
| C32 gabapentin enacarbil CGI-I 77.5% vs 44.8%, NNT ≈3 (21677899, B) | supported | ARR 32.7%, NNT 3.06 → "about 3" correct. | No change. |
| C33 oxycodone-naloxone IRLS −16.5 vs −9.4 (24140442, B) | supported | Exact match. | No change. |
| C34 opioid registry, median 30.0 → 37.5 MME over 5 years (41543123, B) | supported | Exact match; note's own caveat is that the cohort is self-selected and still tolerating opioids. | No change to figures. The self-selection caveat is carried by §6 thin point 4; no further edit judged necessary. |
| C35 taper rate "10–25% every 2–4 weeks" (29602660, D) | wrong-citation | The qualitative point is right and grade D is right, but the numeric figure appears nowhere in the cited note or abstract — the source gives only qualitative moves (divide, advance, switch class). A fabricated-looking number dressed in a real citation. | Figure deleted. §3 Phase 2 now states that no guideline in this KB gives a numeric taper schedule, cites what those guidelines actually say (27448465, 29602660, 34218864, 42203073), and explicitly records that the circulating "10–25% every 2–4 weeks" rule could not be traced to any source here and is therefore not asserted. §6 thin point 1 updated to match. SOLUTION_CLINICIAN_SUMMARY.md states the same. |
| C36 structured withdrawal, 77% (24/31) off agonist (42673880, C) | supported | Exact match; limitations already disclosed inline. | No change. |
| C37 TOMAC RESTFUL 45% vs 16%, NNT ≈4 (37458698, B) | supported | Exact match; NNT 3.57 → "about 4". Industry sponsorship (Noctrix) was in the note but not beside the number. | "Manufacturer-sponsored" added inline. |
| C38 TOMAC IPD meta-analysis MD 3.39 / 3.80, below MCID (41581285, A) | supported | Exact match; the MCID comparison is used as a deflating, not inflating, caveat. | No change. |
| C39 temperature therapy pooled SMD −1.520 (38296642, A; 27772790) | overstated | Numbers exact, but the effect is significantly larger in haemodialysis-associated RLS (β −2.006, p<0.05) and the source trials are predominantly secondary-RLS populations — presenting this as a top-3 option for general RLS oversells it. | Caveat added and grade split: "A (haemodialysis RLS) / C (idiopathic)", with the subgroup β quoted and an explicit instruction not to promise this effect size in idiopathic RLS. |
| C40 Finnish 10-year natural course, 21% → 15%, half remitting (21725862, B) | supported | Exact match; used correctly as a natural-history base rate against which uncontrolled improvement must be read. | No change. |
Disagreements with the reviewers
None material. Two reviewer suggestions were declined and are recorded here rather than silently dropped:
- C04 — the reviewer offered an optional downgrade of the IRLS MCSC letter from C to D. Kept at C: it is a secondary statistical analysis of a real n=196 validation cohort, its limitations are already printed on the note, and the 6-point threshold is used in this document only as a conservative brake on claiming benefit, so an error in either direction is non-inflating.
- C18 — the reviewer asked for a caveat that the vitamin-D systematic review is not independent of the Wali RCT. The claim it supports is negative ("do not treat RLS with vitamin D"), so non-independence cannot inflate it; recorded here instead of adding text.
Follow-ups outside this document
- KB grade drift. Three notes carry frontmatter grades that this review contradicts:
2008-rottach-second-generation-antidepressants-rls.md(B, should be C),2010-whittom-melatonin-bright-light-rls.md(B, should be C, and its ownstudy_typealready sayscase-series), and2018-wolf-ferric-carboxymaltose-hypophosphatemia-rct.md(A, should be B — single RCT). The protocol now uses the corrected grades. The notes andcatalog.jsonwere not edited here, becausecatalog.jsonis generated and editing the notes alone would desync the index; this needs a single pass that regrades the notes and rebuilds the catalog together. - Citation-checking path bug.
2014-allen-irlssg-updated-diagnostic-criteria.mdand the three iron-threshold guideline notes live inknowledge-base/guidelines/, notknowledge-base/studies/. Any automated citation checker that searches onlystudies/will report these as missing. Fix the checker's search path, not the files.
Summary
Forty claims were re-verified against their notes and their PubMed records. Thirty-two survived unchanged in substance. The failures cluster into three recognisable species. First, quantifiers that drifted past their source: "at far higher doses" (C03), a 7.1% ICD rate silently narrowed to agonist-treated patients when the denominator included levodopa (C07), an H2-antagonist association generalised to a cohort where it was frankly null (C21), and a pooled temperature-therapy effect sold to idiopathic-RLS readers when it was driven by haemodialysis patients (C39). Second, grade inflation against the project's own rubric: two observational series and one single RCT carrying grades reserved for randomised or pooled evidence (C20, C22, C30) — and, tellingly, the same inflation sits in the knowledge-base notes themselves, so this is systemic rather than a transcription slip. Third, and most serious, one number with a citation that does not contain it: the "10–25% every 2–4 weeks" taper rate (C35), attributed to a narrative review that gives no numeric schedule at all. That figure has been removed rather than re-sourced, because no source for it exists anywhere in this knowledge base; the document now says so in plain words, in the one section where a false precision would have been most dangerous.
The net effect of this revision is that the protocol claims less than it did, and says where it is guessing. Nothing in the therapeutic sequence changed — iron first, add before you subtract, taper only under supervision, judge nothing before twelve weeks — but the confidence attached to several of its supporting numbers is now lower and, in the taper-rate case, explicitly absent. That is the correct direction of travel for a document whose readers may act on it.
4 · Model
About the simulation
A mechanistic model of the mechanism this site describes — not a predictor of what will happen to any one person.
A separate mechanistic simulation models iron depletion, dopamine signalling, and dopamine-agonist withdrawal over time. It is explicitly a mechanistic model, not a predictor: by its own specification it cannot forecast what will happen to any particular person, carries no patient-specific calibration data, and its 0–10 symptom-index output is only loosely mapped to a real IRLS score — a difference of less than about one point is not meaningful. Every figure and data export it produces carries the same label: “Mechanistic model output — not clinical prediction.”
5 · Disclaimer
Full medical disclaimer
This site follows five non-negotiable rules on every page, note, and document it publishes:
- RLS is a chronic neurological condition. A “cure” is never claimed — only “long-term management,” “remission,” or “reduced or eliminated need for medication,” and only where evidence supports it.
- Every factual claim in the knowledge base, the protocol, and this website carries a citation (PMID, DOI, or URL) and an evidence grade, A through E.
- Dopamine-agonist withdrawal and augmentation are dangerous when mishandled. Any content about tapering states plainly: only under physician supervision, never stopped abruptly.
- Established evidence, emerging evidence, and hypotheses from this project’s own simulation are always kept visibly separate.
- This site and its source documents show a medical disclaimer on every page.
Medical disclaimer. RLS is a chronic neurological condition. No cure is claimed here, and nothing on this site is individual medical advice. Every factual statement is tied to a published study in this knowledge base, with an evidence grade attached, so you can see how strong it is. Dopamine-agonist withdrawal and augmentation are dangerous when mishandled: any change to medication must happen only under physician supervision, and a dopamine agonist must never be stopped abruptly. Where content separates established evidence from emerging evidence from this project’s own simulation’s hypotheses, take that separation seriously — simulation output is never evidence.
This is the long form. The condensed version travels with you on every page, in the banner above the header — it can be collapsed to one line, but it is never removed.
6 · Limitations
Limitations, and how to report an error
Known gaps in this project, stated plainly, plus how to flag a mistake.
- This project could not confirm the specific numeric thresholds in the current Spanish (SEN/SES) or full Japanese national guidelines — the Spanish document was an unreadable image scan, and the Japanese guideline was reachable only via a secondary narrative review — and found no dedicated, indexed national RLS guideline for Canada, Australia, China, or India. Those gaps are recorded, not filled in with a guess.
- One knowledge-base note remains unverifiable — its citation could not be confirmed against any indexed bibliographic database — and is excluded from the public catalog and the protocol until that changes.
- The last full citation-verification pass ran on 2026-09-12; this catalog was last regenerated 2026-09-15. Research published after those dates is not yet reflected here.
- Three knowledge-base notes carry a frontmatter evidence grade that the verification pass judged too high; the protocol already uses the corrected grade, but the notes themselves and the generated catalog have not yet been regraded in place (see the verification log above, “Follow-ups outside this document”).
- The brain-and-dopamine simulation is mechanistic, not predictive — see “About the simulation” above.
Found an error?
If a citation looks broken, a number doesn’t match its source, or a guideline reference is out of date, tell us which page and which claim at corrections@rls-atlas.example — a placeholder address only, not yet a monitored inbox.