Themensynthese
Devices and neuromodulation
Was die geprüfte Forschung zu diesem Thema sagt – jede Aussage ist mit einer Studiennotiz, einer PMID und einem Evidenzgrad verknüpft.
Diese Seite fasst die veröffentlichte Evidenz zu Devices and neuromodulation zusammen: 34 unabhängig geprüfte, evidenzgraduierte Studien, jeweils mit PMID zitiert und von A bis E bewertet.
Alle Themen der Wissensdatenbank
Englische Version
Dieses Dokument wurde noch nicht in diese Sprache übersetzt, daher wird unten das geprüfte englische Original angezeigt. Der Rest der Seite ist in Ihrer Sprache verfügbar.
Synthesis of the evidence on non-drug device and neuromodulation therapies for RLS: peripheral tonic motor activation/nerve stimulation (TOMAC/Nidra), pneumatic compression, vibration (Relaxis pad, whole-body vibration), near-infrared light, TENS, transcranial and transcutaneous-spinal direct current stimulation (tDCS/tsDCS), repetitive transcranial magnetic stimulation (rTMS), spinal cord stimulation (SCS), acupuncture, temperature therapy, and a mechanically simple foot-wrap device (RESTIFFIC). All claims below cite a study note filename (in knowledge-base/studies/) or a PMID. Medical disclaimer: nothing here is individual medical advice; any change to RLS medication, especially tapering a dopamine agonist, must be done only under physician supervision and never stopped abruptly (dopamine agonist withdrawal syndrome, DAWS, can be severe).
What is established (grade A/B)
- Tonic motor activation (TOMAC), delivered by the FDA-cleared (De Novo, April 2023) Noctrix Nidra/NTX100 wearable peroneal-nerve stimulator, is the best-evidenced device therapy for RLS. The pivotal multicenter, double-blind, sham-controlled RESTFUL RCT (n=133) found a CGI-I responder rate of 45% for active TOMAC versus 16% for sham at 4 weeks (difference 28%, 95% CI 14-43%, p=.00011) (2023-bogan-tomac-restful-rct.md). A second, independent sham-controlled RCT (n=45) replicated benefit in both medication-refractory and medication-naive patients (2024-singh-tomac-naive-refractory-rct.md), and two independent meta-analyses -- an individual-participant-data synthesis of 3 RCTs (n=252) (2026-karroum-tomac-individual-participant-meta-analysis.md) and a non-industry meta-analysis of 4 RCTs (n=320) (2025-mohamed-tomac-meta-analysis.md) -- both confirm significant IRLS and sleep-index improvement versus sham. The 2025 AASM clinical practice guideline names bilateral high-frequency peroneal nerve stimulation (i.e., TOMAC) as its one recommended nonpharmacologic RLS therapy (2025-winkelman-aasm-guideline-rls.md).
- Pneumatic compression devices (PCDs) have sham-controlled RCT support: a double-blinded, sham-controlled trial (n=35) found RLS Severity Score improved from 14.1 to 8.4 versus sham (p=0.006), with complete relief in one third of active-device users and none on sham (2008-lettieri-pneumatic-compression-sham-rct.md), building on an earlier open-label pilot (2007-eliasson-pneumatic-compression-pilot.md); external reviews (e.g., the MDS 2018 evidence-based review) rate PCDs as "likely efficacious."
- Temperature (heat/cold) therapy has meta-analytic A support: a systematic review/meta-analysis of 6 trials (177 patients) found a pooled SMD of -1.520 (95% CI -2.122 to -0.918) for RLS severity reduction, with larger effect from longer/hotter sessions and in hemodialysis patients specifically (2023-mohammadi-temperature-therapy-meta-analysis.md).
- Broader systematic reviews spanning multiple device types converge on a similar shortlist of evidence-supported non-drug options -- pneumatic compression, near-infrared light, rTMS, exercise, and (with caveats, see below) acupuncture and vibration/electrical stimulation (2017-xu-cam-systematic-review.md; 2018-harrison-nonpharm-systematic-review.md; 2025-gupta-vibration-electrical-nonpharm-meta-analysis.md, pooled vibration/electrical-stimulation SMD -1.09, 95% CI -2.45 to -0.27, p=0.014). A single small double-blind sham-controlled RCT (n=19) found high-frequency rTMS over the supplementary motor area improved IRLS-RS versus sham (2014-altunrende-rtms-restless-legs-rct.md), and a 2024 systematic review of 21 TMS studies (597 pooled subjects) confirms reduced short-interval intracortical inhibition (SICI) as the most consistent cortical abnormality in RLS, reversible with dopaminergic treatment (2024-lanza-systematic-review-motor-cortex-tms.md).
Emerging C
- Transcutaneous spinal direct current stimulation (tsDCS) targets the spinal cord directly (rather than cortex or a peripheral nerve): a 2026 sham-controlled RCT (n=30) found IRLS-RS improved 12.20 points with active tsDCS versus 1.20 with sham (p<0.001), accompanied by a prolonged cortical silent period and reduced H2/H1 reflex ratio (2026-wang-tsdcs-spinal-cortical-rct.md), building on an earlier single-session pilot showing short-lasting benefit and reduced spinal hyperexcitability (2014-heide-tsdcs-spinal-pilot.md). Only two trials exist to date.
- TENS shows benefit as a medication-sparing adjunct: combined with low-dose (0.25 mg/day) pramipexole, 10 TENS sessions produced greater IRLS/sleep improvement than pramipexole alone in a single-blind RCT (n=46) (2024-sanli-tens-pramipexole-rct.md); an open-label pilot in cirrhosis-associated RLS also showed benefit, though with partial symptom drift after treatment ended (2025-batra-tens-cirrhosis-pilot.md).
- Near-infrared (NIR) light has small-RCT support (2010-mitchell-near-infrared-light-rct.md; comparison of two NIR devices showing wavelength-independent benefit, 2010-mitchell-infrared-devices-comparison.md) and is reviewed as a circulation-enhancing device alongside the vibrating Relaxis pad (2015-mitchell-relaxis-pad-device-review.md).
- Real-world and open-label TOMAC data suggest medication-reduction potential: in the 325-patient THRIVE real-world study (232 analyzed), dopamine-agonist dose was decreased in 18% of users versus increased in 8%, and alpha-2-delta-ligand dose decreased in 11% versus increased in 7% (any medication change favored decrease, 19% vs 11%, p=.01) (2026-singh-tomac-thrive-real-world.md); an open-label extension found benefits deepen with continued use but partially revert on cessation (2023-roy-tomac-open-label-extension.md); a single-arm trial found TOMAC enabled a mean 29.9% opioid dose reduction without symptom worsening (2023-buchfuhrer-tomac-opioid-dose-reduction.md); and polysomnography confirms TOMAC activation objectively suppresses periodic limb movements during sleep (PLMS down 47.9%, PLMS-arousals down 70.8%) (2026-rigot-tomac-acute-sleep-polysomnography.md). None of this is randomized-controlled evidence for medication tapering specifically.
- The mechanically simple RESTIFFIC foot-wrap device showed large single-arm improvement (IRLS change 17.22 points, versus a historical ropinirole comparison of 12/8.9) with no augmentation-type adverse effects (2016-kuhn-restiffic-foot-wrap.md), but has not been sham-controlled.
- Whole-body vibration reduced symptoms in a small randomized crossover trial (n=11) (2016-mitchell-whole-body-vibration-crossover-rct.md).
- Spinal cord stimulation (SCS), an invasive option, shows promising but uncontrolled signal: 89% (16/18) of published cases plus a new index case showed clinically significant IRLS improvement (2025-holland-adaptive-scs-case-review.md), and a broader systematic review across neuromodulation modalities found SCS produced the largest, most consistent effect among invasive options (2026-thrash-neuromodulation-systematic-review.md) -- but this evidence base is entirely case reports/series in patients implanted for a comorbid pain indication.
- A modeled (not measured) US cost-effectiveness analysis found TOMAC likely cost-effective or cost-saving versus sham/no-device care over 3-year and lifetime horizons (ICER $73,600-$83,822/QALY vs sham) (2023-ryschon-tomac-cost-effectiveness.md); this is industry-funded modeling, not real-world cost data, and does not address EU/Luxembourg reimbursement.
Contested or negative findings
- Acupuncture: a Cochrane systematic review found only 2 of 14 identified trials met inclusion criteria (170 patients) and concluded there is insufficient evidence to determine efficacy or safety (2008-cui-cochrane-acupuncture-review.md) -- a grade-A-design review reaching an explicitly negative/ inconclusive verdict.
- Cortical tDCS: a double-blind, sham-controlled RCT (n=33) of tDCS over primary sensorimotor cortex found no significant clinical or neurophysiological benefit in drug-naive RLS (2014-koo-tdcs-negative-rct.md), contrasting with the positive spinal-targeted tsDCS trials above -- target location within the neuraxis appears to matter more than "neurostimulation" as a general category.
- Evidence for vibration pads, cryotherapy, and tDCS is inconsistent across reviews: an RCT-only systematic review (11 of 442 screened trials) concluded vibration pads, cryotherapy, and tDCS were ineffective for RLS severity (2018-harrison-nonpharm-systematic-review.md), while a more recent, broader meta-analysis found a pooled "vibration/electrical stimulation" category significant (SMD -1.09, p=0.014) but cryotherapy, massage, acupressure, and exercise non-significant with wide confidence intervals (2025-gupta-vibration-electrical-nonpharm-meta-analysis.md). Conclusions clearly depend on inclusion criteria and how heterogeneous devices are grouped.
- Cryotherapy is dose/intensity-dependent and inconsistent: only whole-body cryotherapy at -60C reached significance on IRLS and quality of life; milder cold air (-10C) and local cryotherapy (-17C) showed weaker or no IRLS effect in the same trial (2016-happe-cryotherapy-rct.md), though simple cold-water leg immersion did beat warm-water immersion in pregnant women with RLS (2020-jafarimanesh-thermotherapy-cryotherapy-pregnancy-rls.md).
- The circulatory-enhancement mechanism proposed for vibration, pneumatic compression, and NIR light devices (2015-mitchell-relaxis-pad-device-review.md) is directly challenged by data showing whole-body vibration's symptom benefit was NOT accompanied by increased resting skin blood flow (2016-mitchell-whole-body-vibration-crossover-rct.md).
- SCS proponents' own scoping review states published evidence (16 cases at the time) is "insufficient to assess SCS efficacy in patients with RLS" (2023-pagani-estevez-scs-scoping-review.md), a caution largely absent from later, more enthusiastic case-series framing.
Mechanistic picture in 5 bullet points
- Peripheral counter-stimulation/tonic motor activation (TOMAC, TENS, vibration) likely works by driving sustained large-fiber afferent/efferent peripheral activity that is compatible with sleep and objectively suppresses periodic limb movements and PLMS-associated arousals during mid-sleep activation (2026-rigot-tomac-acute-sleep-polysomnography.md).
- Spinal-cord-targeted stimulation (tsDCS) measurably reduces spinal hyperexcitability (lower H2/H1 reflex ratio) and increases cortical inhibitory tone (prolonged cortical silent period), directly matching this project's core anchor fact of spinal hyperexcitability in RLS pathophysiology (2026-wang-tsdcs-spinal-cortical-rct.md; 2014-heide-tsdcs-spinal-pilot.md).
- Motor-cortex-targeted stimulation shows a mixed picture: TMS studies confirm reduced GABAergic intracortical inhibition (SICI) as a consistent RLS biomarker (2024-lanza-systematic-review-motor-cortex-tms.md), yet directly stimulating sensorimotor cortex with tDCS produced no clinical benefit (2014-koo-tdcs-negative-rct.md) -- suggesting cortical excitability changes may be a downstream marker rather than the most tractable stimulation target.
- The historically assumed "circulatory enhancement" mechanism for vibration, pneumatic compression, and near-infrared light devices (2015-mitchell-relaxis-pad-device-review.md) lacks direct confirmation: a controlled vibration trial found symptom relief dissociated from skin blood flow change (2016-mitchell-whole-body-vibration-crossover-rct.md), so the true mechanism for this device class remains unresolved.
- Across neuromodulation modalities, reported effect magnitude in observational data roughly tracks invasiveness (SCS > TENS/TOMAC > light/heat) (2026-thrash-neuromodulation-systematic-review.md), but this gradient is confounded: SCS evidence is uncontrolled case series while TOMAC has multiple RCTs, so it may reflect publication bias rather than a true dose-response of invasiveness.
Implications for a non-drug long-term plan for people currently on dopamine agonists or alpha-2-delta ligands
- TOMAC is the best-supported device to add alongside an existing dopamine agonist or alpha-2-delta ligand: real-world THRIVE data show its use co-occurs with more dopamine-agonist and alpha-2-delta-ligand dose reductions than increases (2026-singh-tomac-thrive-real-world.md), and a direct (if non-DA) proof of concept exists for device-assisted dose tapering with opioids (2023-buchfuhrer-tomac-opioid-dose-reduction.md). Any dose reduction must still be physician-supervised and gradual (see project anchor facts on DAWS) -- no source reviewed reports a controlled trial of TOMAC as an explicit dopamine-agonist tapering protocol.
- Pneumatic compression and temperature (heat/cold) therapy are the cheapest, most globally accessible first-tier additions with genuine sham-controlled RCT or meta-analytic support (2008-lettieri-pneumatic-compression-sham-rct.md; 2023-mohammadi-temperature-therapy-meta-analysis.md), reasonable to add early regardless of country or insurance status.
- TENS combined with a low medication dose (2024-sanli-tens-pramipexole-rct.md) demonstrates a "dose-sparing" pattern worth discussing with a prescriber: adding a device while a dose is reduced, rather than waiting until fully off medication.
- Acupuncture and cortical tDCS should not be relied upon as evidence-based tapering aids given inconclusive/negative top-tier evidence (2008-cui-cochrane-acupuncture-review.md; 2014-koo-tdcs-negative-rct.md); spinal tsDCS is more mechanistically promising but still limited to 2 small trials (2026-wang-tsdcs-spinal-cortical-rct.md).
- Invasive neuromodulation (SCS) is not appropriate as an early-line component of a long-term plan; the evidence is case-series-only in patients already receiving SCS for comorbid chronic pain (2026-thrash-neuromodulation-systematic-review.md; 2023-pagani-estevez-scs-scoping-review.md).
- Cost/availability: TOMAC/Nidra is FDA-cleared (De Novo, April 2023, following Breakthrough Device designation) and prescription-only in the US. CMS established dedicated HCPCS reimbursement codes (E0743 for the device, A4544 for supplies), effective October 1, 2024, per Noctrix Health's own announcement and independent trade-press coverage (Noctrix Health press release, prnewswire.com, 2024-08-19; Sleep Review, sleepreviewmag.com; Medical Device Network, medicaldevice-network.com -- WebSearch, not a peer-reviewed source, so treat as a company/trade-press claim rather than an independently audited figure). This is real-world confirmation that a reimbursement pathway now exists in the US, beyond the modeled cost-effectiveness estimate (2023-ryschon-tomac-cost-effectiveness.md). EU/ Luxembourg regulatory clearance (CE mark), reimbursement, and pricing were searched (WebSearch, September 2026) and not found in any source -- not reported.
Open questions
- No randomized trial has tested any device with dopamine-agonist tapering or augmentation prevention as its primary, prespecified endpoint; all medication-reduction signals (TOMAC/THRIVE, opioid trial) are secondary, observational, or in a non-DA population.
- EU/international regulatory status, reimbursement, and out-of-pocket cost of TOMAC/Nidra and other devices outside the US are not reported in the literature found.
- Long-term (>6 month) durability is essentially untested for tsDCS, TENS, near-infrared light, and pneumatic compression (reviewed trials run 1 hour/day to a few weeks); only TOMAC has extension data out to 24 weeks (2023-roy-tomac-open-label-extension.md), which showed partial reversion on cessation.
- The true mechanism of circulatory-hypothesis devices (vibration, pneumatic compression, NIR light) remains unresolved after a controlled test found no blood-flow correlate for vibration's benefit (2016-mitchell-whole-body-vibration-crossover-rct.md).
- No study has tested a combined/sequenced device protocol (e.g., TOMAC plus iron repletion plus temperature therapy) against any single modality alone.
- Whether devices meaningfully reduce augmentation incidence itself (versus symptom severity at a point in time) when used proactively alongside a dopamine agonist has not been studied.
- Weighted blankets, sometimes suggested for RLS in patient/consumer sources, have no PubMed-indexed clinical evidence in RLS specifically (search "weighted blanket restless legs syndrome" on PubMed returned zero results, checked September 2026); WebSearch found only anecdotal/marketing content and one unrelated case report of a weighted blanket in periodic limb movement disorder (not RLS). This is a genuine evidence gap, not an oversight -- not reported/no evidence found, so weighted blankets are not included above as an established or emerging therapy.
Notes in this topic
New notes written for this sweep (knowledge-base/studies/):
- 2023-bogan-tomac-restful-rct.md -- Pivotal sham-controlled RESTFUL RCT (n=133): TOMAC CGI-I responder 45% vs sham 16% at 4 weeks; basis for FDA De Novo clearance.
- 2023-roy-tomac-open-label-extension.md -- 24-week open-label extension: TOMAC benefit deepens with continued use, partially reverts on cessation.
- 2023-buchfuhrer-tomac-opioid-dose-reduction.md -- Single-arm trial: TOMAC enabled 29.9% mean opioid dose reduction without symptom worsening.
- 2026-singh-tomac-thrive-real-world.md -- 325-patient real-world study: TOMAC use co-occurs with more dopamine-agonist/alpha-2-delta dose reductions than increases.
- 2024-singh-tomac-naive-refractory-rct.md -- Second independent sham-controlled RCT + meta-analysis: TOMAC effective in both naive and refractory RLS.
- 2025-mohamed-tomac-meta-analysis.md -- Independent meta-analysis of 4 RCTs (n=320): TOMAC significantly improves IRLS and sleep indices.
- 2026-rigot-tomac-acute-sleep-polysomnography.md -- Polysomnography: mid-sleep TOMAC activation cuts PLMS by 47.9% and PLMS-arousals by 70.8%.
- 2023-ryschon-tomac-cost-effectiveness.md -- Markov model: TOMAC projected cost-effective/cost-saving vs sham in US healthcare system.
- 2007-eliasson-pneumatic-compression-pilot.md -- Uncontrolled pilot (n=10): pneumatic compression device improved RLS severity and quality of life.
- 2008-lettieri-pneumatic-compression-sham-rct.md -- Sham-controlled RCT (n=35): pneumatic compression significantly beat sham on RLS severity.
- 2015-mitchell-relaxis-pad-device-review.md -- Narrative review classifying RLS devices as circulation-enhancing vs counter-stimulatory (incl. Relaxis pad).
- 2016-mitchell-whole-body-vibration-crossover-rct.md -- Crossover RCT (n=11): whole-body vibration reduced symptoms without increasing skin blood flow.
- 2010-mitchell-near-infrared-light-rct.md -- RCT (n=34): near-infrared light significantly reduced RLS symptoms, effect persisting 4 weeks post-treatment.
- 2010-mitchell-infrared-devices-comparison.md -- Comparative RCT (n=25): two different near-infrared devices produced equivalent benefit.
- 2024-sanli-tens-pramipexole-rct.md -- RCT (n=46): TENS added to low-dose pramipexole outperformed pramipexole alone.
- 2025-batra-tens-cirrhosis-pilot.md -- Open-label pilot (n=25): TENS improved RLS in cirrhosis patients, with partial drift after treatment stopped.
- 2014-koo-tdcs-negative-rct.md -- Sham-controlled RCT (n=33): cortical tDCS showed no benefit in drug-naive RLS (negative finding).
- 2014-heide-tsdcs-spinal-pilot.md -- Sham-controlled pilot (n=34): single-session spinal tsDCS reduced spinal hyperexcitability and symptoms short-term.
- 2026-wang-tsdcs-spinal-cortical-rct.md -- Sham-controlled RCT (n=30): 2 weeks of spinal tsDCS significantly improved IRLS and neurophysiology.
- 2025-holland-adaptive-scs-case-review.md -- Case report plus review: adaptive spinal cord stimulation sustained RLS improvement; 89% of prior cases positive.
- 2026-thrash-neuromodulation-systematic-review.md -- Systematic review across neuromodulation modalities: SCS shows largest, most consistent effect among invasive options.
- 2023-pagani-estevez-scs-scoping-review.md -- Scoping review (16 cases): SCS promising but evidence explicitly insufficient for efficacy claims.
- 2016-kuhn-restiffic-foot-wrap.md -- Single-arm trial (n=30): RESTIFFIC foot-wrap device outperformed historical ropinirole comparison, no augmentation-type effects.
- 2008-cui-cochrane-acupuncture-review.md -- Cochrane review: insufficient evidence for acupuncture efficacy/safety in RLS (negative/inconclusive).
- 2016-happe-cryotherapy-rct.md -- RCT (n=35): only whole-body cryotherapy at -60C significantly improved RLS; milder cooling did not.
- 2020-jafarimanesh-thermotherapy-cryotherapy-pregnancy-rls.md -- RCT (n=80) in pregnancy: cold-water leg immersion beat warm-water immersion for RLS severity.
- 2023-mohammadi-temperature-therapy-meta-analysis.md -- Meta-analysis of 6 trials: temperature therapy significantly reduces RLS severity, more so in hemodialysis patients.
- 2017-xu-cam-systematic-review.md -- Systematic review (18 studies): multiple device/lifestyle modalities significantly reduce RLS severity.
- 2025-gupta-vibration-electrical-nonpharm-meta-analysis.md -- Meta-analysis of 17 RCTs: pooled vibration/electrical-stimulation category significant; cryotherapy/massage/acupressure/exercise not.
Pre-existing notes referenced (already in knowledge-base/studies/ -- includes two written concurrently by a parallel topic-sweep agent for the same source papers; referenced here rather than duplicated, per the project's dedup rule):
- 2026-karroum-tomac-individual-participant-meta-analysis.md -- Individual-participant-data meta-analysis of 3 RCTs (n=252): TOMAC effective as monotherapy and adjunct, IRLS mean difference 3.39-3.80 (p<=0.005).
- 2018-harrison-nonpharm-systematic-review.md -- RCT-only systematic review (11 trials): rTMS, compression, foot-wrap, infrared, acupuncture found effective; vibration pads, cryotherapy, and tDCS found ineffective for RLS severity.
- 2025-winkelman-aasm-guideline-rls.md -- 2025 AASM guideline naming peroneal nerve stimulation (TOMAC) as its one recommended nonpharmacologic RLS therapy.
- 2014-altunrende-rtms-restless-legs-rct.md -- Small sham-controlled RCT: high-frequency rTMS over supplementary motor area improved RLS symptoms.
- 2024-lanza-systematic-review-motor-cortex-tms.md -- Systematic review of 21 TMS studies: reduced SICI is the most consistent cortical abnormality in RLS.
- 2015-magalhaes-tms-cortical-excitability-review.md -- Systematic review of 15 TMS studies: confirms reduced SICI, reversible with dopaminergic treatment.
- 2018-lanza-impaired-ltd-plasticity-rtms.md -- Case-control rTMS study: impaired cortical LTD-like plasticity in RLS patients.
- 2019-magalhaes-sici-severity.md -- Case-control: SICI reduced across RLS severity spectrum, useful as a discriminative biomarker.
- 2024-lanza-tms-pharmaco-protocol-dipyridamole-caffeine.md -- Published protocol for a pharmaco-TMS trial probing the adenosinergic system in RLS.
- 2016-lanza-central-peripheral-excitability-review.md -- Narrative review: RLS as a distributed network-excitability disorder spanning cortex to periphery.
Additional linked notes (2026-09 quality pass)
These notes carry this topic tag but are not yet woven into the prose synthesis above; listed here so they are discoverable and counted in catalog.json rather than orphaned.
- 2020-osses-rodriguez-plantar-pressure-device-mexico.md (2020) - Improvement of restless legs syndrome with a plantar pressure device: A brief Mexican case report (Instituto Nacional de Psiquiatria, Mexico City) described marked symptom reduction in two RLS patients using the Restiffic plantar pressure device, which applies continuous pressure to the...
- 2020-sun-tiaoshen-acupuncture-rct-china.md (2020) - Clinical observation of Tiaoshen acupuncture on restless leg syndrome: A small Chinese RCT found that adding "Tiaoshen" (spirit-regulating) acupuncture points (Baihui GV20, Shenting GV24, Benshen GB13) to conventional lower-limb acupuncture produced greater improvement in RLS severity, s...
Geprüfte Studien zu diesem Thema (34)
Sortiert nach Evidenzgrad, dann nach Aktualität. Jeder Titel führt zum PubMed-Eintrag.
- A
Effect of Vibration, Electrical Stimulation and Other Non-Pharmacological Interventions on Restless Leg Syndrome Severity and Sleep Quality: A Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis
Gupta B, Goel R, Gupta K, Thakor A, Mittal A · Annals of Indian Academy of Neurology · 2025
Meta AnalysisPMID 41370003
- A
Efficacy and safety of tonic motor activation for the treatment of restless legs syndrome: A meta-analysis of randomized controlled trials
Mohamed RG, Sarhan K, Hegazi A, Abuhlaiga MA, Elkasabi HG, Kashbour M · Sleep Medicine · 2025
Meta AnalysisPMID 40381601
- A
Investigating the Effect of Temperature Therapy on the Severity of Restless Legs Syndrome: Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis
Mohammadi MM, Vaisi Raygani AA · Clinical Medicine & Research · 2023
Meta AnalysisPMID 38296642
- A
Complementary and alternative therapies for restless legs syndrome: An evidence-based systematic review
Xu XM, Liu Y, Jia SY, Dong MX, Cao D, Wei YD · Sleep Medicine Reviews · 2017
Systematic ReviewPMID 28886918
- A
Acupuncture for restless legs syndrome
Cui Y, Wang Y, Liu Z · Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews · 2008
Systematic ReviewPMID 18843716
- B
Modulation of spinal and cortical neuronal excitability by transcutaneous spinal direct current stimulation in restless legs syndrome
Wang L, Hao W, Wang D, Li S, Su X, Liu C, Wang Y · Sleep Medicine · 2026
- B
Transcutaneous electrical nerve stimulation in the management of restless legs syndrome symptoms: A single-blind, parallel-group clinical study
Sanli ZS, Ortac EA, Binokay H, Aktas K · Journal of Sleep Research · 2024
- B
Efficacy and safety of TOMAC for treatment of medication-naive and medication-refractory restless legs syndrome: A randomized clinical trial and meta-analysis
Singh H, Baker FC, Ojile J, Adlou B, Kolotovska V, Rigot SK, Charlesworth JD · Sleep Medicine · 2024
- B
Efficacy and safety of tonic motor activation (TOMAC) for medication-refractory restless legs syndrome: a randomized clinical trial
Bogan RK, Roy A, Kram J, Ojile J, Rosenberg R, Hudson JD, Scheuller HS, Winkelman JW, Charlesworth JD · Sleep · 2023
- B
Thermo-therapy and cryotherapy to decrease the symptoms of restless leg syndrome during the pregnancy: A randomized clinical trial
Jafarimanesh H, Vakilian K, Mobasseri S · Complementary Therapies in Medicine · 2020
- B
Whole body and local cryotherapy in restless legs syndrome: A randomized, single-blind, controlled parallel group pilot study
Happe S, Evers S, Thiedemann C, Bunten S, Siegert R · Journal of the Neurological Sciences · 2016
- B
Decreased Symptoms without Augmented Skin Blood Flow in Subjects with RLS/WED after Vibration Treatment
Mitchell UH, Hilton SC, Hunsaker E, Ulfberg J · Journal of Clinical Sleep Medicine · 2016
- B
Transcranial direct current stimulation on primary sensorimotor area has no effect in patients with drug-naive restless legs syndrome: a proof-of-concept clinical trial
Koo YS, Kim SM, Lee C, Lee BU, Moon YJ, Cho YW, Im CH, Choi JW, Kim KH, Jung KY · Sleep Medicine · 2014
- B
Restless legs syndrome and near-infrared light: An alternative treatment option
Mitchell UH, Myrer JW, Johnson AW, Hilton SC · Physiotherapy Theory and Practice · 2010
- B
Pneumatic compression devices are an effective therapy for restless legs syndrome: a prospective, randomized, double-blinded, sham-controlled trial
Lettieri CJ, Eliasson AH · Chest · 2008
- C
Acute effects of tonic motor activation (TOMAC) on sleep in adults with medication-refractory restless legs syndrome
Rigot SK, St Louis EK, Baker FC, Alawieh H, Singh H, Ojile J, Tekchandani J, Kolotovska V, Adlou B, Charlesworth JD · Sleep Advances · 2026
CohortPMID 42488517
- C
Real-world effectiveness and safety of tonic motor activation therapy for refractory restless legs syndrome: 90-day outcomes from the THRIVE prospective observational study
Singh H, Buchfuhrer MJ, Ojile J, Roy A, Thomas RJ, Bogan RK, Aggarwal A, Preciado J, Swartz KJ, Charlesworth JD · Sleep · 2026
CohortPMID 42231562
- C
Neuromodulation for Restless Legs Syndrome: A Systematic Review and Mechanistic Considerations for Spinal Cord Stimulation
Thrash GW, Wang E, Brockington D, Rives C, Sun Y, Roberts AC, Das S, Pilitsis JG, Shirvalkar P, do Campo RV, Walker HC, Earley CJ, Holland MT · Sleep and Breathing · 2026
Systematic ReviewPMID 41806217
- C
Transcutaneous electric nerve stimulation in restless leg syndrome with cirrhosis: a pilot study
Batra S, Paliwal VK, Goel A, Gupta A, Kishore RVK, Mishra AK, Garg S, Mishra P, Kapoor V · Expert Review of Medical Devices · 2025
CohortPMID 40391712
- C
Adaptive spinal cord stimulation improves restless legs syndrome: Case report, literature review, and mechanistic hypothesis
Holland MT, Mekhail MN, Thrash G, George T, Mugan D, Paul C, Shirvalkar P, Grace W, Deer T, McGregor K, Vazquez do Campo R, Earley CJ, Walker HC · Sleep Medicine · 2025
Case SeriesPMID 40652630
- C
Potential therapeutic benefit of spinal cord stimulation in restless legs syndrome: scoping review and mechanistic considerations
Pagani-Estevez GL, Holland MT, Tippmann-Peikert M, Benarroch EE, Silber MH, Carvalho DZ · Pain Medicine · 2023
Systematic ReviewPMID 37833049
- C
Long-term efficacy and safety of tonic motor activation for treatment of medication-refractory restless legs syndrome: A 24-Week Open-Label Extension Study
Roy A, Ojile J, Kram J, Olin J, Rosenberg R, Hudson JD, Bogan RK, Charlesworth JD · Sleep · 2023
CohortPMID 37439365
- C
Clinical observation of Tiaoshen acupuncture on restless leg syndrome
Sun YZ, Zhou C, Sun YZ · Zhongguo Zhen Jiu (Chinese Acupuncture & Moxibustion) · 2020
- C
Targeted Pressure on Abductor Hallucis and Flexor Hallucis Brevis Muscles to Manage Moderate to Severe Primary Restless Legs Syndrome
Kuhn PJ, Olson DJ, Sullivan JP · The Journal of the American Osteopathic Association · 2016
- C
Effects of transcutaneous spinal direct current stimulation in idiopathic restless legs patients
Heide AC, Winkler T, Helms HJ, Nitsche MA, Trenkwalder C, Paulus W, Bachmann CG · Brain Stimulation · 2014
Case ControlPMID 25216650
- C
Comparison of two infrared devices in their effectiveness in reducing symptoms associated with RLS
Mitchell UH, Johnson AW, Myrer B · Physiotherapy Theory and Practice · 2010
- C
Sequential compression devices for treatment of restless legs syndrome
Eliasson AH, Lettieri CJ · Medicine · 2007
Case SeriesPMID 18004176
- D
Cost-Effectiveness of Tonic Motor Activation (TOMAC) Therapy for Patients with Restless Legs Syndrome: An Exploratory Analysis
Ryschon AM, Cao KN, Roy A, Pietzsch JB · Neurology and Therapy · 2023
CohortPMID 37824047
- D
Medical devices for restless legs syndrome - clinical utility of the Relaxis pad
Mitchell UH · Therapeutics and Clinical Risk Management · 2015
ReviewPMID 26664128
- E
A Double-Blind, Randomized, Sham-Controlled, Crossover Study on the Efficacy of Burst Spinal Cord Stimulation in Patients With Severe Refractory Primary or Secondary RLS: the REST-SCS Study
Koetsier E, Manconi M, Hackethal S (Clinica ARS Medica / Neurocenter of Southern Switzerland) · ClinicalTrials.gov registry · 2026
Trial Registry
- E
PENS-P: Peroneal Electrical Nerve Stimulation in Pregnancy for Restless Legs Syndrome (RLS)
Buntak V (Rhode Island Hospital, with American College of Chest Physicians) · ClinicalTrials.gov registry · 2026
Trial Registry
- E
The Effect of Spinal Cord Stimulators on Restless Leg Syndrome
Holland M (University of Alabama at Birmingham) · ClinicalTrials.gov registry · 2025
Trial Registry
- E
A Post-Market Observational Clinical Study to Determine the Long-Term Effectiveness and Safety of the Noctrix TOMAC (Tonic Motor Activation) System for the Treatment of Restless Legs Syndrome - The THRIVE Study (NCT06076499)
Noctrix Health, Inc. · ClinicalTrials.gov · 2023
Cohort
- E
Improvement of restless legs syndrome with a plantar pressure device
Osses-Rodriguez L, Urrea-Rodriguez A, Jimenez-Genchi A · Neurologia (Barcelona, Spain) · 2020
Case SeriesPMID 33309201
Auf dieser Seite
- What is established (grade A/B)
- Emerging (grade C)
- Contested or negative findings
- Mechanistic picture in 5 bullet points
- Implications for a non-drug long-term plan for people currently on dopamine agonists or alpha-2-delta ligands
- Open questions
- Notes in this topic
- Additional linked notes (2026-09 quality pass)
- Geprüfte Studien zu diesem Thema (34)
Weitere Themensynthesen
- Alpha-2-Delta Ligands in RLS44
- Behavioural, psychological, and self-management approaches to RLS20
- Brain iron deficiency in RLS54
- Circadian chronobiology and melatonin in RLS32
- Clinical Trials Pipeline and Pharmacology Data18
- Dopamine agonists and augmentation86
- The Dopamine System in RLS35
- Genetics and Epidemiology of RLS84
- Glutamate, Adenosine and Hyperarousal in RLS33
- Clinical guidelines worldwide (comparison)10
- Gut, microbiome and inflammation in RLS41
- Iron therapy (oral and IV)89
- Lifestyle, exercise, diet, and supplements45
- Long-term outcomes and harms: natural history, deprescribing durability, and combination safety18
- Molecular Mechanisms: Hypoxia-HIF-Adenosine-Iron Axis and RLS Gene Function45
- Opioids, other drugs, and drugs that worsen RLS28
- Outcome measures, placebo/nocebo magnitude, and objective sleep measurement in RLS20
- Secondary RLS and comorbidities73
- Sex hormones, pregnancy, and the life course of RLS23
- Spinal, Peripheral and PLMS Mechanisms in Restless Legs Syndrome53
- Getting off dopamine agonists: tapering and deprescribing35